Skip to main content

Click Icon for help getting started with your Chromebook and MUCH MORE technology help!

CONTACTS

 
Michael Bowen
Director of Curriculum and Instruction
925-513-6300 ext. 6330
mbowen@brentwood.k12.ca.us

 

Andrea Zeigler

Secretary of Curriculum and Instruction
925-513-6300 ext. 6331
azeigler@brentwood.k12.ca.us
 
Tamara DeYoe
Coordinator of Middle School Programs
925-513-6300 ext. 2260
tdeyoe@brentwood.k12.ca.us
 
Emily Richards
FECCC Induction Coordinator
925-513-6300 ext. 2263
erichards@brentwood.k12.ca.us

 

Jennifer Whitney
Coordinator of Intervention
925-513-6300 ext. 2264
jwhitney@brentwood.k12.ca.us
 
Liz Ybarra
Coordinator of Elementary Programs
925-513-6300 ext. 2272
lybarra@brentwood.k12.ca.us

 

Lisa Brizendine
TSA of Curriculum Technology
 
Nancy Carlson
TSA Instructional Coach
925-513-6300 ext. 2212
ncarlson@brentwood.k12.ca.us
 
CiCi Migay
TSA Instructional Coach
925-513-6300 ext. 2213
cmigay@brentwood.k12.ca.us

 

Jessica Ranger
TSA of GATE Programs
925-513-6300 ext. 2281
jranger@brentwood.k12.ca.us
 
Joe Thornhill
TSA for Science
925-513-6450
jthornhill@brentwood.k12.ca.us
 
Tiffany Ward
TSA Instructional Coach
925-513-6300 ext. 2216
tward@brentwood.k12.ca.us

 

Curriculum & Instruction

Purpose

The Curriculum and Instruction Department is committed to improved learning and academic achievement for all students within the district.  To that end, the C&I Department is focused on the district’s LCAP goals and strategies.

CAASPP STUDENT SCORE REPORT INFORMATION

Students in grades three through eight participate in the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP).

Your child will take the following test(s), depending on their grade level:

  • Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments for English language arts/literacy (ELA) and mathematics in grades three through eight OR the California Alternate Assessment (CAA)
  • California Science Test (CAST) in grades five and eight

Each year's scores for students will be available at the beginning of the following school year.  Based on grade level, score reports will be distributed in the following ways:

  • Score Reports for grades 3 and 4 were sent home with students.  Parents can now view in the BUSD parent portal.
  • Scores Reports for grades 5 through 7 are now available in the BUSD parent portal.
  • Score Reports for grade 8 students are now available in the LUHSD parent portal.

These reports show scores for ELA and mathematics. They include an overall score for each subject and information about how well your child did in different areas. 

To learn more about your child’s scores, go to the new parent web page called Starting Smarter, available at https://ca.startingsmarter.org/

This site includes:

  • resources to help understand results on the student score reports
  • access to sample test questions and practice tests
  • no-cost resources to support learning
  • a guide for parent-teacher conferences

In our district, the test results are just one way to look at how well our students are doing. We use the results to find areas where students are doing well and areas in which they need help.

Note: If your child took the CAST, results will be provided to you in the late fall.

If you have questions or concerns, please call your child’s school office.

State Testing Dates

Test Grades Dates

CAASPP Testing

CAST:  Grade 5 and 8 - Science

SBAC/CAA:  Grades 3 - 8 - ELA and Mathematics

April 14 - June 2, 2021